Skip To Content
Press Release

TASB Seeks Nominations for Outstanding Superintendents

Austin— Nominations are open for Texas school boards interested in putting forward their superintendent for the 2023 Superintendent of the Year award. 

Presented annually since 1984, the SOTY Award spotlights outstanding district leaders. The SOTY winner, announced on stage each fall at the TASA | TASB Convention, is chosen for exemplifying strong leadership skills, dedication to strengthening public education, and commitment to community engagement. The winner also exhibits a strong and effective relationship with their board.   

“I am looking forward to hearing the inspiring stories of this year’s SOTY candidates,” said Rolinda Schmidt, Kerrville ISD board president and chair of the TASB Member Services Committee, which also serves as the State Selection Committee that oversees the award process. “Hearing what these leaders are doing in districts across the state always makes me proud to be a part of public education and excited about what’s ahead for public schoolchildren in Texas.”  

To be eligible, superintendents must have served in their district for three years at the time the award is presented. The deadline for 2023 applications to be submitted to the regional education service center is April 21, but boards are encouraged to start early. In addition to highlighting the superintendent’s successes, the board must pass a resolution in support of the nomination.   

The nomination packet includes district demographic and performance data to provide the committee insight into the district’s progress on student performance, efforts to close achievement gaps, and the context for that work. Application materials were updated in 2022 with new student outcomes measures at subject and grade level to reflect the lack of district-level letter grades for 2020 and 2021 due to the pandemic.  

“This award is a great opportunity to spotlight the hard work, dedication, and innovation of Texas public education leaders,” said Dan Troxell, TASB executive director and the 2008 SOTY winner. “I look forward each year to honoring these talented education leaders and the positive impact they, along with their boards, are having on their students and communities.”  

The selection process begins with regional interviews, conducted by each ESC in late spring. A regional winner is named in all 20 ESC regions where a superintendent is nominated.    

Among the regional winners, five finalists are selected by the State Selection Committee after a round of interviews in August. The five finalists go through another round of interviews at the TASA | TASB Convention, when the winner is selected and announced.  

The SOTY winner is presented with $5,000 for use by their district, and finalists receive $1,000 for use by their district. The award program is underwritten by Balfour, and winners receive a custom Balfour ring.   

The 2022 SOTY winner was Bobby Ott, Temple ISD. See other past winners and find more details on eligibility and the nomination process.  

About TASB

TASB is a nonprofit organization established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.