Skip To Content


The TASB Board of Directors ensures the association is aligned with member needs and priorities.

TASB is member-led by six officers and a Board of Directors made up of school board trustees from districts in every educational service center (ESC) region across the state plus one representative for ESC boards. Elected at the annual Delegate Assembly, the board convenes at least four times a year to provide accountability, accessibility, responsive decision-making, and financial oversight to ensure alignment with member needs and priorities.  

All Active Members have a voice in the overall direction of the Association by participating in the annual Delegate Assembly. This annual membership meeting, held during the TASA | TASB Convention, is where members elect officers and directors, adopt the TASB Advocacy Agenda, and vote on Association business, like amending the bylaws. Each local school board and education service center board selects a delegate to attend the Assembly. The TASB Board is then responsible for translating these decisions into items that can be acted upon by TASB's staff and the members themselves.

TASB Board Officers

Armando Rodriguez
Armando Rodriguez
TASB President
Canutillo ISD
Rolinda Schmidt headshot
Rolinda Schmidt
TASB President-Elect
Kerrville ISD
Tony Hopkins
Tony Hopkins
TASB First Vice-President
Friendswood ISD
Mary Jane Hetrick
Second Vice-President
Drippings Springs ISD
Dan Micciche
Dan Micciche
Dallas ISD
Debbie Gillespie
Immediate Past President

TASB Board of Directors

Jesus Amaya
Jesus Amaya
Director: Region 1, Position A
Los Fresnos CISD 
Sylvia Sánchez Garza
Director: Region 1, Position B
South Texas ISD 
Moises Alfaro
Moises Alfaro
Director: Region 2
Mathis ISD 
Margaret Pruett
Director: Region 3
Victoria ISD 
Rose Avalos
Director: Region 4, Position A
Aldine ISD 
Darlene Breaux
Director: Region 4, Position B
Alief ISD
Tony Hopkins
Tony Hopkins
Director: Region 4, Position C
Friendswood ISD
Angela Lemond Flowers
Director: Region 4, Position D
Houston ISD 
Rebecca Fox
Director: Region 4, Position E
Katy ISD 
Generic person silhouette
Vacant Position
Region 4, Position F
Generic person silhouette
Vacant Position
Director: Region 4, Position G
Nicholas Phillips
Director: Region 5
Nederland ISD 
Beth Prykryl
Director: Region 6, Position A
New Caney ISD 
Theresa Wagaman
Director: Region 6, Position B
Conroe ISD 
Tony Raymond
Director: Region 7
Sabine ISD 
Thomas Darden
Director: Region 8
Cooper ISD 
Mark Lukert
Director: Region 9
Wichita Falls ISD 
Tricia Ikard
Director: Region 10, Position A
Maypearl ISD 
Linda Gooch
Director: Region 10, Position B
Sunnyvale ISD 
Dan Micciche
Dan Micciche
Director: Region 10, Position C
Dallas ISD
Kevin A. Carbó
Director: Region 10, Position D
Mesquite ISD 
Generic person silhouette
Vacant Position
Director: Region 10, Position E
Julie Cole
Director: Region 11, Position A
Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD 
Quinton "Q" Phillips
Director: Region 11, Position B
Fort Worth ISD 
Justin Chapa
Director: Region 11, Position C
Arlington ISD 
Steven Newcom
Director: Region 11, Position D
Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD 
Mildred Watkins
Director: Region 12
La Vega ISD 
Lynn Boswell
Director: Region 13, Position A
Austin ISD 
Mary Jane Hetrick
Director: Region 13, Position B
Drippings Springs ISD
Kathy Major headshot
Kathy Major
Director: Region 13, Position C
Liberty Hill ISD 
Greg Welch
Greg Welch
Director: Region 14
Clyde CISD 
Raymond Meza
Raymond P. Meza
Director: Region 15
San Felipe Del Rio CISD 
Cindy Spanel
Director: Region 16
Highland Park ISD-Potter County
Carlos Bentancourt
Director: Region 17
Slaton ISD 
Steve Brown headshot
Steve Brown
Director: Region 18
Ector County ISD 
Cynthia Najera
Cynthia Najera
Director: Region 19
Socorro ISD 
Ginger Friesenhahn's headshot
Ginger Friesenhahn
Director: Region 20, Position A
East Central ISD
Carol Harle
Carol Harle
Director: Region 20, Position B
Northside ISD-Bexar County ISD 
Rich Sena
Director: Region 20, Position D
Boerne ISD
Generic person silhouette
Vacant Position
Region 20, Position E
David Sublasky
Director: ESC Representative
Region 19 ESC

Affiliated Entity Boards

Find out who is on the TASB Legal Assistance Fund Board.

Lone Star Investment Pool Board and Advisory Board

Lone Star Investment Pool is overseen by the Board of Trustees, which is comprised of active members of the Pool and elected by participants for three-year terms.

TASB Benefits Cooperative Governance

TASB Benefits Coop is a member-driven organization, created by school districts for the benefit of school districts. We’re governed by a board of trustees. Our board is composed of program participants.

TASB Risk Management Fund Governance

The Fund is strengthened by its 19-member Board of Trustees, which provides leadership and direction to ensure exceptional service and value to members.

TASB Energy Cooperative Board

The TASB Energy Cooperative Board is member governed, made up of trustees from across the state of Texas.

Texas BuyBoard Governance

The Texas BuyBoard Cooperative is governed by an eleven-member board of trustees.

You May Also Like

Delegate Assembly

TASB is an association of many voices. Delegate Assembly is where those voices come together to develop a common vision — the best public schools we can provide for Texas students.

TASB Board Briefs

Read the latest Board Briefs from the TASB Board of Directors quarterly meetings.

TASB Past Presidents

Each fall at our Delegate Assembly, board members from across Texas are elected to serve on TASB's Board of Directors. Our past presidents are shown here by years served and district.

TASB Director Nomination Information

As prescribed by the Bylaws of the Texas Association of School Boards, this page displays a list of vacancies and expiring terms on the TASB Board of Directors.