Skip To Content
Press Release

Nominees Announced for 2022 Superintendent of the Year Award

TASB is honored to announce that 20 education leaders from across the state have been named regional superintendents of the year, advancing them in the prestigious annual Superintendent of the Year award competition.  

Local school boards that are active members of TASB may nominate their superintendents, and nominees must be a current member of the Texas Association of School Administrators. Candidates are evaluated on their leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employer relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.  

School boards pass a resolution endorsing their superintendent for consideration and send an official application to the regional nominating committee. Each region across the state then selects one nominee to advance to the state competition.   

A TASB committee will interview regional winners on August 26-27 and select five finalists. The winner of the SOTY award will then be announced at the txEDCON22 TASA|TASB Convention, scheduled for September 23-25 in San Antonio.   

This year’s regional superintendents of the year are:  

  • Tony Lara, South Texas ISD, Region 1
  • José Moreno, Robstown ISD, Region 2 
  • Micah Dyer, Cuero ISD, Region 3 
  • Jenny McGown, Klein ISD, Region 4 
  • Lisa Meysembourg, Woodville ISD, Region 5 
  • Jeff Burke, Splendora ISD, Region 6 
  • Thurston Lamb, Henderson ISD, Region 7
  • Jason McCullough, Mount Vernon ISD, Region 8
  • Tony Bushong, City View ISD, Region 9 
  • Doug Williams, Sunnyvale ISD, Region 10
  • Taylor Williams, Slidell ISD, Region 11
  • Bobby Ott, Temple ISD, Region 12
  • Doug Killian, Pflugerville ISD, Region 13
  • David Young, Abilene ISD, Region 14 
  • O.K. (Buddy) Wolfenbarger III, Comstock ISD, Region 15
  • Darryl Flusche, Canyon ISD, Region 16
  • Chris Smith, Brownfield ISD, Region 17
  • Scott Muri, Ector County ISD, Region 18 
  • Jeannie Meza-Chavez, San Elizario ISD, Region 19
  • Saul Hinojosa, Somerset ISD, Region 20   
About TASB

TASB is a nonprofit organization established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.