Skip To Content
Press Release

Newcom Elected to State Association Board

Austin— Steven Newcom of Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD has been elected to a two-year term on the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Board of Directors, representing TASB Region 11, Position D. The election was held during the Association’s 2022 Delegate Assembly on Sept. 24 in San Antonio.

Newcom has served on the Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD Board of Education for 27 years. He has been president for multiple terms during his tenure, most recently serving consecutive terms from 2015 to 2022. Under his leadership, the board was named a top five finalist for Texas Honor Board in 2016. In 1998, Newcom graduated from Leadership TASB and earned his Master Trustee designation.

He is a Baylor University graduate and a certified public accountant (CPA). Now retired, he owned and operated his own accounting firm in the community for 37 years. In his professional career, he served as president of the Fort Worth Chapter of Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants. He was named the chapter’s CPA of the Year in 2015-16. He also was named a Distinguished Alumni of Tarrant County College in 2013. 

He has a long legacy of service in the local community, including terms as president of the Saginaw Area Chamber of Commerce, Saginaw Optimist Club, and the Fort Worth Chapter of Texas Association of Sports Officials. Newcom is a PTA Lifetime Member and has been named the City of Saginaw Citizen of the Year and City of Saginaw Public Servant of the Year.

About TASB

TASB is a nonprofit organization established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.