Skip To Content
Press Release

Leadership TASB Class of 2024 Members Announced

Austin— The Texas Association of School Boards is pleased to announce the 34 school board members selected to participate in the Leadership TASB Class of 2024. A committee made up of Leadership TASB Alumni recommended the class members and presented the selections to the Member Services Committee of the TASB Board for approval during its July meeting.

“We are excited to welcome the Leadership TASB Class of 2024,” said Dan Troxell, TASB executive director. “Every year we hear from trustees who tell us how transformational Leadership TASB is for them. We cannot wait to see how each member of the Class of 2024 uses this experience to inform their board service as they continue making a difference in students’ lives.”

Leadership TASB was developed and designed for school board members by school board members in 1993 as part of TASB's ongoing commitment to provide visionary leadership to Texas school boards. The program arose from a request from the TASB Board of Directors to increase trustee involvement and provide advanced educational training and leadership opportunities to the membership. Since then, Leadership TASB has developed into the premier school board training program in the state with more than 900 alumni trustees.  

Each year, a cohort of experienced board members are selected based on demonstrated leadership in their local school district and communities. The trustees represent districts from across the state that vary in size and the student populations they serve. Debbie Gillespie, TASB board president is a Leadership TASB Class of 2014 graduate and a member of the LTASB Alumni Association.

“As an LTASB Alumni Association member, I want to congratulate and welcome all of the members of the Class of 2024,” Gillespie said. “I hope this one-of-a-kind experience will expand your understanding of board governance while learning about the vast differences in district needs across the state. This program will not only help you enhance your leadership skills but also help you continue to serve the students and families in your communities.”

The Leadership TASB Class of 2024 program kicks off at the TASA | TASB Convention, being held Sept. 29-Oct. 1 in Dallas, and concludes in June 2024 at the Summer Leadership Institute. The yearlong program will include educational visits to districts and communities across Texas.

The members of the Leadership TASB Class of 2024 are:

  • Brittany Bennett, S&S CISD
  • Stephanie Blanck, Georgetown ISD
  • Marvin Bobo, Lovejoy ISD
  • Jeri Chambers, Plano ISD
  • Felix Chavez, Hutto ISD
  • Laura Clark, Eanes ISD
  • Temeika Durden, Manor ISD
  • Camille Eckersley, Bluff Dale ISD
  • Katie Farias, Southside ISD
  • Russ Garner, Comal ISD
  • Lori Ann Flores-Garza, Robstown ISD
  • Paola Gonzalez Fusilier, Pasadena ISD
  • Cornelius Hambrick, LaPoynor ISD
  • Tammy Hawkins, Ector County ISD
  • Tricia Ikard, Maypearl ISD (TASB Director)
  • Eladio Jaimez, Harlingen CISD
  • A.D. Jenkins, Irving ISD
  • Yvonne Johnson, Shepherd ISD
  • Chris Kovatch, Orangefield ISD
  • Kea Lynn Lewis, Crosby ISD
  • Sandra Licon, San Elizario ISD
  • Natasha McDaniel, Spring ISD
  • Nicole Nolen, Gregory-Portland ISD
  • Gopal Ponangi, Frisco ISD
  • Lance Redmon, Katy ISD
  • Corinne Saldaña, Northside ISD
  • Alison Busse-Savage, Lyford CISD
  • Paul Shanklin, Aldine ISD
  • Kendall Smith, Lancaster ISD
  • Amy Thomas, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD
  • Barbara Townsend, Granbury ISD
  • Pam Watts, Midway ISD
  • AlexAndrea Zamarripa, Pecos-Barstow-Toyah ISD
  • Paul Zoch, Bridge City ISD
About TASB

TASB is a nonprofit organization established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.