Woods Wins 2018 Superintendent of the Year Award

For release: October 1, 2018
Contact: Theresa Gage-Dieringer, 512.467.3564
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.

(Austin)—Brian Woods, chief executive of Northside ISD-Bexar County, was named Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) in Austin on September 28. He was selected for the prestigious award from a group of five state finalists that included Mark Porterie, Port Arthur ISD, Region 5; Tim Harkrider, Willis ISD, Region 6; Kenneth Border, Shallowater ISD, Region 17; and Juan Martinez, Clint ISD, Region 19.

Woods has been in education administration for 21 years. He earned his bachelor’s degree at The University of Texas at Austin and his master’s and doctorate degrees at The University of Texas at San Antonio. For the past six years, he has led Northside ISD, which serves more than 106,000 students.

The State Selection Committee noted that Woods places importance on local accountability measures and believes that learning should not only be rigorous but relevant for students. In addition, the Committee noted that he values openness to diverse viewpoints and considers strong relationships as key to effective leadership.

The districts of the winning superintendent and four state finalists receive an award from Balfour, program underwriter. Woods also will receive a Superintendent of the Year ring from Balfour.

Members of the selection committee commented that they were honored to visit with all of the dedicated superintendents nominated for the award. Regional winners included the following:

  • Daniel Treviño Jr., Mercedes ISD, Region 1
  • Max Thompson, Banquete ISD, Region 2
  • Jeanette Winn, Karnes City ISD, Region 3
  • Mark Henry, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD, Region 4
  • Susan Morton, Winnsboro ISD, Region 7
  • Michael Lamb, Sulphur Springs ISD, Region 8
  • David Vroonland, Mesquite ISD, Region 10
  • Robin Ryan, Grapevine-Colleyville ISD, Region 11
  • George Kazanas, Midway ISD-McLennan County, Region 12
  • William Chapman, Jarrell ISD, Region 13
  • Tim Seymore, Breckenridge ISD, Region 14
  • Ross Aschenbeck, Sonora ISD, Region 15
  • Bryan Davis, Dimmitt ISD, Region 16
  • Denise Shetter, Kermit ISD, Region 18

Sponsored by TASB, the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984. Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.

Superintendents from any of the state’s local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students.