Watkins Reelected to State Association Board

For release: October 29, 2018
Contact: Theresa Gage-Dieringer, 512.467.3564
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.

(Austin) — The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) has reelected Mildred Watkins of La Vega ISD to a three-year term on the TASB Board of Directors, representing TASB Region 12.

Watkins has served on the La Vega ISD Board for 22 years. She is currently the board’s assistant secretary and has previously served as secretary, vice-president, and president.

Watkins is a teacher at the Texas Juvenile Justice Department, where she also served as a principal. She has held the positions of teacher and principal for Waco ISD and was a teacher for Teague ISD.

She has bachelor of science and bachelor of arts degrees from Paul Quinn College, a master of education from Prairie View A&M, and a special education certification from Baylor University. She is a member of the Texas Elementary School Principals Association, AKA Sorority, and the Union Baptist District Association Usher Board.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students.