2018 Media Honor Roll Announced

For Release: August 27, 2018
Contact: Theresa Gage, theresa.gage-dieringer@tasb.org
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.
All Honored Media

(Austin)—Media representatives from more than 300 Texas newspapers, radio and television stations, and online publications were named to the 2018 Media Honor Roll by their local school districts. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the Media Honor Roll program recognizes reporters statewide for fair, accurate, and balanced reporting of news about public schools.

Criteria for the district selection included the media representative’s efforts to get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals; report school news in a fair, accurate, and balanced manner; give a high profile to positive news about schools; visit the schools; and maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school officials.

“Districts across Texas appreciate these reporters for their balanced and accurate approach to sharing both the challenges facing our schools and the successes achieved by local students, teachers, and school boards. Their work aids local communities in focusing on the goal of providing the best public schools we can for every child,” said Teresa Flores, TASB president.

In most cases, district school boards passed a resolution to add names of media from their communities to the list. Personalized certificates were created for presentation at the local level. This year’s complete Media Honor Roll nominee list is posted online.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students.