For Release: July 5, 2016                      
Contact: Barbara Williams, 800.580.8272, ext. 6418
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.

Nominees Announced for 2016 Superintendent of the Year Award

(Austin)—Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.
Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees are:
Marla Guerra, South Texas ISD, Region 1; Suzanne Nelson, Tuloso-Midway ISD, Region 2; Angi Williams, Galena Park ISD, Region 4; Jay Killgo, Vidor ISD, Region 5; Jason Marshall, Palestine ISD, Region 7; Don Jefferies, Greenville ISD, Region 8; Jeff McClure, Henrietta ISD, Region 9; David Harris, DeSoto ISD, Region 10; Marcelo Cavazos, Arlington ISD, Region 11; Robin Battershell, Temple ISD, Region 12; Cathy Lauer, Nixon-Smiley CISD, Region 13; Shaun Barnett, Stamford ISD, Region 14; Bill Wiggins, Plemons-Stinnett-Phillips CISD, Region 16; Dewitt Smith, Wink-Loving ISD, Region 18; José Espinoza, Socorro ISD, Region 19; and Greg Gibson, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD, Region 20.
Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Superintendents from any of Texas’ 1,029 local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.
The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin on August 26-27 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced September 23 at the 2016 Texas Association of School Administrators/TASB Convention in Houston.
TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students.