Winners Announced for Student Video Contest

For release: March 27, 2017
Contact: Barbara Williams, 512.340.2933
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.
View winners/view all entries

(Austin)—Six schools have been selected as winners of the student video contest sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB). These videos illustrate the true value of public education and emphasize the many positive aspects of our state’s public schools.

The contest was open to all Texas elementary and secondary public school students, and winners were selected in three categories: elementary school, middle/junior high school, and high school. First-place prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the following school districts later this spring for use in the students’ classroom or campus:

A second-place prize of $2,500 will be presented to the following:

“We are delighted that students from all over the state creatively demonstrated their enthusiasm for the great things going on in their public schools. Through our students’ voices, the videos do an excellent job of explaining why local schools deserve the support of their communities and appropriate funding from the state,” said Charles R. Stafford, TASB president. “Our students help spotlight the many ways Texas public schools excel and underscore why all Texans should be proud to stand up for their public schools,” he said.

In addition, a People’s Choice in each of the three categories was chosen based on the videos most viewed by visitors to TASB’s Website. These winners receive no monetary prize but may be included among the videos displayed statewide at various TASB events:

Students were asked to tell what makes their school exceptional, how the school has earned community support, how their school is making a difference in students’ lives and future success, and what makes Texas public schools the best choice. All entries can be viewed on the TASB Website.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million public school students.