Nominees Announced for 2017 Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) Award

For release: July 5, 2017
Contact: Barbara Williams, 512.340.2933
Find us on Facebook and Twitter

(Austin)—Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.

Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees are:

Region Name ISD
1 Arturo Cavazos Harlingen CISD
2 Maria Vidaurri Robstown ISD
3 Robert Jaklich Victoria ISD
4 Thomas Randle Lamar CISD
5 Scott Campbell East Chambers ISD
6 Denise Monzingo Rockdale ISD
7 LaTonya Goffney Lufkin ISD
8 Judd Marshall Mount Pleasant ISD
10 John Chapman Ennis ISD
11 Jim Vaszauskas Mansfield ISD
12 Marcus Faulkner China Spring ISD
13 Tommy Hooker Thrall ISD
14 Jason Cochran Eastland ISD
15 Wes Beck Early ISD
16 Donna Hale Miami ISD
17 Julee Becker Slaton ISD
18 Amy Jacobs Coahoma ISD
19 Jeannie Meza-Chavez Tornillo ISD
20 Jeff Cottrill Knippa ISD

Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Superintendents from any of Texas’ 1,028 local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee. The annual awards program is underwritten by Balfour.

The state committee will interview regional winners in Austin on August 25-26 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced October 7 at the 2017 TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students.