2017 TASA/TASB Convention

October 6–8, 2017
Kay Bailey Hutchison Convention Center


Contacts: Amy Francisco, TASA, 512.852.2127; Barbara Williams, TASB, 512.340.2933

Note: Media badges are needed to enter all TASA/TASB events. Check in at the general registration area (upper lobby D) at the booth marked “Preregistered” to sign in and get a badge. Visit the TASA/TASB convention website for complete information on all activities.

Texas School Board Members and Administrators to Convene in Dallas

(Dallas)—More than 200 breakout sessions will focus on education trends, issues, and innovative programs in the public school arena. The TASA/TASB Convention is the largest training event of its kind for Texas public school board members and administrators. Among convention highlights:

Thought Leaders, General Sessions, and Awards

Prominent experts in education-related fields who are passionate about providing trustees and administrators with cutting-edge research and ideas to help foster improved student performance. Nationally known keynote speakers will challenge and inspire attendees to continue the battle to support and protect public education in this country.

October 6, Friday

10:15–11:15 a.m., Ballroom G, Thought Leader
Troy Hutchings, senior strategic advisor, Educational Testing Service
Educator Ethics: Embrace the Gray!

1–2 p.m., Ballroom G, Thought Leader
John Tanner, founder and executive director, Test Sense
The Power of Accountability

4–5:30 p.m., Exhibit Hall F, First General Session
John Quiñones, Emmy Award-winning coanchor of ABC News magazine Primetime
A 20/20 Vision of Opportunity through Education

Dan Huberty, Texas state representative and chair of the Texas House Education Committee, will receive the 2017 Key Communicator Award from the Texas School Public Relations Association.

TASA 2017 Outstanding School Board will be announced in the same session. Up for the honor are the Coahoma, Galena Park, Hardin-Jefferson, Mansfield, and Royse City ISD boards of trustees.

October 7, Saturday

8:45–9:45 a.m., Ballroom G, Thought Leader
Robert S. Kaplan, president and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Current Economic Conditions and Implications for Monetary Policy

10:30 a.m.–noon, Exhibit Hall F, Second General Session
Hill Harper, actor and author
Manufacturing Your Destiny and Conquering FEAR (False Evidence Appearing Real)

TASB Superintendent of the Year will be announced in same session. Finalists are Robert Jaklich, Victoria ISD; Thomas Randle, Lamar CISD; LaTonya Goffney, Lufkin ISD; Judd Marshall, Mount Pleasant ISD; and Jim Vaszauskas, Mansfield ISD.

1–2 p.m., Ballroom G, Thought Leader
Linda Abraham Silver, Eugene McDermott CEO, Perot Museum of Nature and Science
When Formal Meets Informal in Science Education

4:15–5 p.m., Ballroom G, Thought Leader
Mike Morath, Texas Commissioner of Education, Texas Education Agency
TEA Update

October 8, Sunday

10:30–11:30 a.m., Grand Ballroom, Ballrooms C1-4, Third General Session
Jamie Vollmer, president, Vollmer, Inc., consultant, and author
The Great Conversation: Defending Public Education One Community at a Time

More than 300 vendors sharing products and services to assist school districts are showcased in the exhibit hall (open Friday and Saturday). Also on display will be an exhibit of school architecture, featuring innovative new construction and renovation projects throughout the state. Another popular exhibit will showcase the artwork of talented students from kindergarten through high school.

TASA is the professional association for Texas school administrators, providing networking and professional learning opportunities, legislative advocacy, and targeted communications to support the work of superintendents and other school leaders. The organization’s mission is to promote, provide, and develop leaders who create and sustain student-centered schools and develop future-ready students.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve approximately 5.4 million students.