Skip To Content
Press Release

Inaugural Recipient of TASB’s James B. Crow Innovation in Governance Award Announced

Austin — Faye Beaulieu, a former longtime school board member for the Hurst-Euless-Bedford (HEB) Independent School District (ISD) and a retired senior vice president of the United Way of Tarrant County, has been selected as the inaugural recipient of the Texas Association of School Board’s (TASB) James B. Crow Innovation in Governance Award. 

The James B. Crow Innovation in Governance Award was established in 2022 in honor of its namesake, who retired as executive director of TASB in August 2021, after 40 years of service to the Association. Crow was known for relentless commitment to improving public education by supporting excellent local school board governance through visionary leadership. Those eligible for the award include trustees, district administrators, education professionals, and public school advocates — both active and retired — who have significantly influenced effective school district governance practices at the state or local level.  

Faye Beaulieu, a former longtime school board member for the Hurst-Euless-Bedford (HEB) Independent School District (ISD), speaks at a TASB event.

Beaulieu, who served 26 years on the HEB ISD Board of Trustees before retiring in May 2021, was chosen for the honor by the TASB Member Services Committee. The award includes a $10,000 contribution to a Texas public school district associated with the recipient.  

“On behalf of the committee, we’re thrilled to be able to recognize Faye Beaulieu, whose commitment to improving the lives of students through excellent board governance was so evident in the supporting nomination,” said Kerrville ISD Trustee Rolinda Schmidt, who chaired the selection committee and is TASB Board first vice president. “What especially stood out was her approach to building strong systems and processes that not only delivered better outcomes for students but also fostered a culture of respect and collaboration on the board. She is clearly a servant leader with a passion for improving lives.” 

During her tenure on the HEB ISD board, Beaulieu helped author the board’s initial Board Operating Procedures, creating a framework to formalize practices and focus on student outcomes. She also served on the board during the adoption of several successful programs in the district, extensive building projects, and the hiring of two superintendents, who served for 14 years and 11 years respectively. 

“James Crow left an amazing legacy at TASB, and when our Board of Directors said they wanted to establish an award in his name, we knew that was a fitting way to honor his years of service while also recognizing others in public education who are also doing outstanding and innovative work,” said TASB Executive Director Dan Troxell. “I want to thank the Member Services Committee for all their work in launching this award and for selecting such an accomplished inaugural recipient. Faye Beaulieu is an excellent choice.”  

Faye Beaulieu reads to a class of students.

Upon learning of her selection for the award, Beaulieu said she was surprised and honored by the unexpected recognition.  

“Words cannot express how excited I am to be named the inaugural winner of TASB's James B. Crow Innovation in Governance Award,” said Beaulieu. “I considered the opportunity to work with Jim as a TASB director, officer, and ultimately president to be the best leadership development training I could have experienced. His wisdom and knowledge of school governance, along with his calm demeanor and even-keeled approach to crisis, set an amazing example, and his humor and friendship kept it real for all of us who worked with him. I am humbled and blessed to be the recipient of an award named for him.”  

Beaulieu served as a TASB director from 2005 to 2015 and was TASB President during the 2013-14 year. Over the years, she has received many accolades including the highest individual award of the HEB Chamber of Commerce; the Clyde Mooney Award; the Northeast Leadership Forum’s Distinguished Leadership Award; and the Girl Scouts of Texas and the Oklahoma Plains awarded her the Woman of Distinction Connector Award. In 2020, HEB ISD’s board was named as the TASA Outstanding School Board of Texas. 

The award will be presented at the TASB Summer Leadership Institute in June. Nominations for the 2024 James B. Crow Award Innovation in Governance Award will open at the end of the year.  

About TASB

TASB is a nonprofit organization established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.