Skip To Content
Press Release

TASB Seeks Nominations for Outstanding Superintendents  

Austin— Texas school boards are invited to submit nominations for the 2024 Superintendent of the Year.  

Presented annually since 1984, the SOTY Award spotlights outstanding district leaders. The SOTY winner, announced on stage each fall at txEDCON, is chosen for exemplifying strong leadership skills, dedication to strengthening public education, and commitment to community engagement. The winner also exhibits a strong and effective relationship with their board.    

“This year marks the 40th anniversary of the Superintendent of the Year program, which showcases the exceptional work being done in Texas public schools under the guidance of talented leaders,” said Nicholas Phillips, Nederland ISD trustee and chair of the TASB Member Services Committee, which oversees the SOTY award process. “As an educator myself, I understand the extraordinary impact a school district superintendent can have on moving a district forward and creating a culture of achievement for all students. We’re looking forward to seeing what this year’s nominees are doing on behalf of our public school children.” 

To be eligible, superintendents must have served in their district for three years at the time the award is presented. The deadline for 2024 applications to be submitted to the district’s regional education service center is April 21, but boards are encouraged to start early. In addition to highlighting the superintendent’s successes, the board must pass a resolution in support of the nomination.    

The nomination packet includes district demographic and performance data to provide the committee insight into the district’s progress on student performance, efforts to close achievement gaps, and the context for that work. 

“We encourage boards to take the time to nominate their outstanding superintendents because it’s a great opportunity to spotlight excellence among our Texas public education leaders,” said Dan Troxell, TASB executive director and the 2008 SOTY winner. “These talented education leaders deserve honor and recognition for their hard work, innovation, and commitment to their students and communities.” 

The selection process begins with regional interviews, conducted by each ESC in late spring. A regional winner is named in all 20 ESC regions where a superintendent is nominated.     

Among the regional winners, five finalists are selected by the State Selection Committee after a round of interviews in August. The five finalists will go through another round of interviews at txEDCON24, when the winner is selected and announced.   

The SOTY winner is presented with $5,000 for use by their district, and finalists each receive $1,000 for use by their district. The award program is underwritten by Balfour, and winners receive a custom Balfour ring.    

The 2023 SOTY winner was Martha Salazar-Zamora of Tomball ISD. See other past winners and find more details on eligibility and the nomination process and materials at  

About TASB

TASB is a nonprofit organization established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.