Skip To Content
Press Release

TASB Announces Media Honor Roll for Exemplary Reporting on Public Schools

Austin— The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) is pleased to announce that 52 journalists have been named to the TASB 2024 Media Honor Roll. This award recognizes media representatives statewide for fair and balanced reporting of news about public schools.

Media from newspapers, radio and television stations, and digital publications across the state were honored by their local school districts. Criteria for the district selection included the media representative’s efforts to get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals; report school news in a fair, accurate, and balanced manner; give a high profile to positive news about schools; visit the schools; and maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school officials.

“The media plays a strong role in sharing the successes and challenges within our Texas public schools,” said Dan Troxell, TASB executive director. “By showcasing success stories, journalists not only inform but also foster a culture of appreciation and improvement in our school communities.” 

In most cases, school boards will pass a formal resolution and present a TASB personalized certificate to their nominated news media. 

Azle ISD

Zach Freeman, The Tri-County Reporter

Brownsville ISD

Stephanie Rosales, KRGV

Bryson ISD

Brian Smith, Bryson ISD

Corpus Christi ISD

Olivia Garrett, Corpus Christi Caller-Times

Denver City ISD

Bo Wells, Denver City Sports, KIKZ 1250AM

David Escalante, DJE Media

Eloy Gutierrez, wtx.snaps

Fort Stockton ISD

Ken Ripley, KFST Radio

Kerry Waldrip, The Fort Stockton Pioneer

Galena Park ISD

Allan Jamail, North Channel Star Newspaper

Bob Slovak, ABC 13 Houston/KTRK-TV

David Taylor, North Channel Star Newspaper

Nate Griffin, Fox 26 Houston

Randy McIlvoy, KPRC 2 Houston

Henderson ISD

Audrey Blaschke, The Henderson News

Kerrville ISD

Louis Amestoy, Kerr County Lead

Tammy Prout, Hill Country Community Journal

Lampasas ISD

Erick Mitchell, Lampasas Dispatch Record

Northside ISD -Bexar County

Isaac Wildes, San Antonio Report

Nancy Preyor-Johnson, San Antonio Express News

San Angelo ISD

Alma Velez, Foster Communications

Araceli Gutierrez, Conexión San Angelo

Caleb McGuire, KLST/KSAN

Carolyn McEnrue, KLST-TV

Carolyn Miller, San Angelo Family Magazine

Cody Brown, KLST-TV

Damien Bartonek, Fox West Texas

Fred Key, Foster Communications

Gloria Cuellar, Saver Media

Jim Sanchez, Conexión San Angelo and Flaco Guapo Media

John Flint, Neighbors of the Concho Valley

Linda Thorsen Bond, Neighbors of the Concho Valley

Lucas Banda, San Angelo LIVE!

Randall Case, Fox West Texas

Rick Andrews, Foster Communications

Rick Mantooth, Foster Communications

Ryan Chadwick, San Angelo LIVE!

Ryan Compeau, KLST-TV

Sandy Rojas, Fox West Texas

Senora Scott, KLST-TV/KSAN-TV

Shea Harris, Concho Sports Network

Temple ISD

Adriana Alexander, KCEN-TV

Eric E. Garcia, Temple Daily Telegram

Jarell Baker, KXXV-TV

Joel Valley, Temple Daily Telegram

Megan Boyd, KWTX-TV

Waco ISD

Ally Kadlubar, KWTX-News 10

Bradley Vaughn, KWTX-News 10

Carl Hoover, Waco Tribune-Herald

Dominque Leh, KXXV-News 25

Earl Stoudemire, KWKT-Fox 44

Heather Healy, KXXV-News 25

About TASB

TASB is a nonprofit organization established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.