Winners Announced for Student Video Contest

For release: March 29, 2021
Contact: Regan Zuege, 512.505.1095,
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.
View Student Video Winners and All Entries.

(Austin) ― Six schools have been selected as winners of the biennial Student Video Contest sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB). The videos focus on overcoming challenges and pushing past adversity and showcase the strength, resilience, and success of Texas public schools.

The contest was open to all Texas elementary and secondary public school students, and winners were selected in three categories: elementary school, middle/junior high school, and high school.

First-place prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the following school districts later this spring for use in the students’ classroom or campus:

  • Elementary: Frances E. Norton Elementary School, Allen ISD
  • Middle: Spring Forest Middle School, Spring Branch ISD
  • High: Bridgeland High School, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD

A second-place prize of $2,500 will be presented to the following:

  • Elementary: Berta Palacios Elementary School, Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
  • Middle: Coppell Middle School East, Coppell ISD
  • High: Cypress Creek High School, Cypress-Fairbanks ISD

“This school year has posed unique challenges for Texas public schools, and I am beyond proud to see our students united and working hard on projects like this that send a positive message while also furthering the students’ technological skills,” said Jim Rice, TASB president. “Thank you to the students, teachers, and staff who all contributed their time, skills, and knowledge to this project. It’s wonderful to hear about and celebrate the success of Texas public schools despite the undeniable adversity they have faced.”

In addition, a People’s Choice in each of the three categories was chosen based on the videos most viewed from start to finish by visitors watching in the online gallery. These winners receive no monetary prize but may be included among the videos displayed statewide at various TASB events:

  • Elementary: Frances E. Norton Elementary School, Allen ISD
  • Middle: Lincoln Junior High School, Coldspring-Oakhurst CISD
  • High: Warren High School, Northside ISD-Bexar County

Students were asked to highlight how their schools have boldly overcome barriers to support students, teachers, and public education as a whole, and what makes Texas public schools the best choice. All entries can be viewed on the TASB website.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local Texas school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.