Nominees Announced for 2020 Superintendent of the Year Award

For release: July 10, 2020        
Contact: Joan Randall, 512.340.2983
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.

(Austin)—Regional winners of the annual Superintendent of the Year (SOTY) award have been announced. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984.

Regional superintendents of the year nominated by regional selection committees are:

  • Jose Gonzalez, McAllen ISD, Region 1
  • Roland Hernandez, Corpus Christi ISD, Region 2
  • Marshall Scott III, Bay City ISD, Region 3
  • Danny Massey, Brazosport ISD, Region 4
  • Michelle Barrow, Newton ISD, Region 5
  • Andrew Peters, Caldwell ISD, Region 6
  • Jerry Gibson, Marshall ISD, Region 7
  • Greg Bower, Como-Pickton CISD, Region 8
  • Todd Wilson, Chillicothe ISD, Region 9
  • Marc Smith, Duncanville ISD, Region 10
  • Jamie Wilson, Denton ISD, Region 11
  • David Edison, Aquilla ISD, Region 12
  • Roger Dees, Giddings ISD, Region 13
  • Joe Young, Brownwood ISD, Region 15
  • Darryl Flusche, Canyon ISD, Region 16
  • Becky McCutchen, Alpine ISD, Region 18
  • Juan Cabrera, El Paso ISD, Region 19
  • Thomas Price Jr., Boerne ISD, Region 20

Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

The state committee will interview regional winners on August 28-29 and select five state finalists. The Superintendent of the Year will be announced October 2 at the 2020 Texas Association of School Administrators/TASB Convention.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.4 million public school students.