Mott Reelected to State Association Board

For release: October 29, 2018
Contact: Theresa Gage-Dieringer, 512.467.3564
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.

(Austin) — The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) has reelected Vernagene Mott of Pflugerville ISD to a three-year term on the TASB Board of Directors, representing TASB Region 13, position C.

Mott was elected to the Pflugerville Board of Trustees in 2004 and is currently in her fourth term as president.

Born and raised in Pflugerville, Mott is a proud graduate of Pflugerville High School, where she earned the distinction of class valedictorian. She went on to earn a bachelor’s degree with honors in math from The University of Texas and was a math and science teacher for 35 years. Mott was a member of the Texas Classroom Teachers Association from 1964 through 2003.

Mott is a charter member and founder of the Pflugerville Education Foundation. She also is a charter member of Pflugerville’s Heritage House Museum and a local historian, having coauthored five published books.

In other civic involvement, Mott is on the Baylor Scott and White Hospital Development Board and has served on the Manville Water Supply Company Board of Directors. She is an active member of her church. The Greater Pflugerville Chamber of Commerce recognized Mott with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students.