For Release: September 26, 2016
Contact: Barbara Williams, 512.340.2933
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.

Cavazos Wins Superintendent of the Year Award

(Austin)—Marcelo Cavazos, superintendent of Arlington ISD, has been named the 2016 Superintendent of the Year by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB). His win was announced at the recent Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA)/TASB Convention in Houston. Cavazos was selected from a group of state finalists that included Angi Williams, Galena Park ISD, Region 4; David Harris, DeSoto ISD, Region 10; Robin Battershell, Temple ISD, Region 12; and Greg Gibson, Schertz-Cibolo-Universal City ISD, Region 20.

Noted by the selection committee were his commitment to a strong future for public education and belief that public schools ensure that our nation’s democracy is sustained. Cited earlier in the award process were Cavazos’ outreach and agreements with local universities to secure automatic admission for the top 20 percent of district juniors and emphasis on training to strengthen the leadership skills of aspiring principals and assistant principals.

With 17 years of administration experience, Cavazos serves about 63,000 students and is in his fifth year as superintendent of Arlington ISD. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees at The University of Texas—Pan American and doctorate at The University of Texas at Austin. Cavazos received an award and a Superintendent of the Year ring from Balfour, program underwriter. State finalists also received awards from Balfour.

Sponsored by TASB, the SOTY program has recognized exemplary superintendents for excellence and achievement in educational leadership since 1984. Candidates are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving educational quality, ability to build effective employee relations, student performance, and commitment to public involvement in education.

Superintendents from any of the state’s local school districts are eligible for nomination by their school boards. Local nominees are submitted to a regional selection committee, which chooses one nominee to send to the state selection committee.

Regional winners nominated by regional selection committees are Marla Guerra, South Texas ISD, Region 1; Suzanne Nelson, Tuloso-Midway ISD, Region 2; Jay Killgo, Vidor ISD, Region 5; Jason Marshall, Palestine ISD, Region 7; Don Jefferies, Greenville ISD, Region 8; Jeff McClure, Henrietta ISD, Region 9; Cathy Lauer, Nixon-Smiley CISD, Region 13; Shaun Barnett, Stamford ISD, Region 14; Bill Wiggins, Plemons-Stinnett-Phillips CISD, Region 16; Dewitt Smith, Wink-Loving ISD, Region 18; and José Espinoza, Socorro ISD, Region 19.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve local public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million students.