Texas Association of School Boards Elects New Officers

For release: October 10, 2017
Contact: Barbara Williams, 512.340.2933
Find us on Facebook and Twitter.

(Austin)—The Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) elected its 2017–18 officers during the Association’s recent annual Delegate Assembly and Convention in Dallas. New TASB President Teresa Flores of Ingleside ISD succeeds Immediate Past President Charles R. Stafford of Denton ISD. James de Garavilla of Silsbee ISD now serves as president-elect. First vice-president is Lee Lentz-Edwards of Kermit ISD and second vice-president is Jim Rice of Fort Bend ISD. Ted Beard of Longview ISD serves as secretary-treasurer.

Flores has served on the Ingleside ISD Board since 1999 and has held the positions of secretary, president, and delegate to the TASB Delegate Assembly. She was elected to the TASB Board of Directors for Region 2 in 2006. For more than 20 years, Flores has served as a financial advisor with Merrill Lynch.

After graduating from Ingleside High School, she attended Del Mar College. She currently participates in local school events and has a special interest in legislative activity involving education. Most recently, she was asked to participate on the District 32 State Representative’s Educational Advisory Committee.

Past civic involvement includes president of the high school band booster organization, director for the Corpus Christi Harbor Playhouse, member of the Corpus Christi Symphony Community Outreach Committee, chair of the scholarship committee for the Del Mar College Foundation, and treasurer and player agent of the Ingleside Little League, serving more than 450 children and their parents.

De Garavilla has represented Region 5 on the TASB Board since 2009, serving on each of the board’s standing committees. He also served on the Special Committee on School Finance and chaired the Legislative Committee twice, once during the 83rd Legislative Session, which saw the passage of HB 5, and during this 85th Legislative Session.

He was elected to the Silsbee ISD Board in 2006 and completed the Leadership TASB and Leadership Southeast Texas programs, and is a member of the LSET Advisory Council. He also has been active in the grassroots advocacy process and served on the TASB Legislative Advisory Council. De Garavilla has served in various leadership roles at Silsbee ISD, including board president, chairing its Budget and Finance Committee and an ad-hoc committee on establishing the board’s first set of operating procedures.

Professionally, de Garavilla is a senior polymer research engineer at DuPont and holds several patents in his field. Throughout his 33-year career with DuPont, he has held a variety of technical, managerial, business, and marketing roles. He is a graduate of Northeastern University in Boston and a product of Massachusetts public schools.

Lentz-Edwards is serving her 12th year on the Kermit ISD Board. She is currently in her third term as president, having served previously as secretary for several years. She is a graduate of Sul Ross State University with a bachelor of business administration, master of education, and master of business administration.

She has worked in the field of education for many years and now has a position as a special education coordinator. Lentz-Edwards has been active in her community, having served as a leader in both Girl Scouts and 4-H, a Sunday school teacher and superintendent at her church, and a member of the Kermit Rotary Club, where she held officer positions as secretary and president.

Lentz-Edwards has been honored as a Woman of Distinction by the Permian Basin Girl Scout Association, Outstanding Adult 4-H Leader in District VI, and Kermit Woman of the Year.

Rice was elected to the Fort Bend ISD Board in 2010 and has held the positions of board president and board secretary. Elected to the TASB Board of Directors in 2012, he chaired the Legislative Committee during the 84th Legislative Session and served on the Nominations and Planning and Development committees. He also is a 2014 graduate of Leadership TASB.

Rice has served on the Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce board of directors since 2005 and currently serves as chair of the Education Division. In addition, he is a 2005 graduate of the Fort Bend Chamber of Commerce’s Leadership Forum Class. His involvement in other civic organizations includes the Greater Fort Bend Economic Development Council and Literacy Council of Fort Bend County.

In addition, he has served on the board of the Fort Bend Regional P16 Council, which is dedicated to supporting student achievement, and is cofounder and member of the board of directors of Fort Bend Cares, which benefits underprivileged youth in the community. A resident of Sugar Land since 1981, he is president of Rice & Gardner Consultants, an engineering and construction management firm.

Elected to the Longview ISD Board in 1998, Beard has served in various capacities, including assistant secretary, vice-president, and president. A master trustee, he is a graduate of Leadership TASB.

Beard earned a bachelor’s degree in human services from LeTourneau University and now works as a claims representative and an equal employment opportunity counselor for the Social Security Administration. He is a retired sergeant major from the United States Army and a combat veteran of Desert Storm and Iraqi Freedom.

Beard was appointed to the TASB Risk Management Fund Board in November 2007 and currently serves as chair. He also is a member of Texas Caucus of Black School Board Members.

Stafford has been on the Denton ISD Board for more than 15 years and has held the positions of vice-president and secretary four times. He served as president in 1993–94, 2007–09, and 2013–14.

Stafford studied in the Plan II Honors program at The University of Texas at Austin and continued his education with accounting classes at the University of North Texas. He is a self-employed real estate broker and developer with Keller Williams Realty.

Stafford’s activities include participation in the Kiwanis Club and Greater Denton-Wise Association of Realtors®, chair of the Advisory Council for the Children’s Advocacy Center of Denton County, chair of the Denton Central Appraisal District, member of the Advisory Board for the College of Public Affairs and Community Services at the University of North Texas, cochair of the Capital Campaign for College of PACS, board member of the Animal Shelter Foundation, and board member of the Denton Chamber of Commerce.

TASB is a nonprofit association established in 1949 to serve public school boards. School board members are the largest group of publicly elected officials in the state. The districts they represent serve more than 5.3 million public school students.

Flores_Teresa_170x210_1017-(3).jpg deGaravilla_James_170x210_1017-(1).png Lentz-Edwards_Lee_170x210_1017-(1).jpg
Teresa Flores
James de Garavilla
Lee Lentz-Edwards
First Vice-President
Rice_Jim_170x210_1017-(1).jpg Beard_Ted_170x210_1017-(1).jpg Stafford_Charles_170x210_1017-(4).jpg
Jim Rice
Second Vice-President
Ted Beard
Charles R. Stafford
Immediate Past President