2023 TASB Media Honor Roll List

Media representatives from Texas newspapers, radio and television stations, and online publications were named to the 2023 Media Honor Roll by their local school districts. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the Media Honor Roll program recognizes reporters statewide for fair, accurate, and balanced reporting of news about public schools.

Criteria for the district selection included the media representative’s efforts to:

  • Get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals
  • Report school news in a fair, accurate, and balanced manner
  • Give a high profile to positive news about schools
  • Visit the schools
  • Maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school officials
District Honoree Organization
Azle ISD Jessica McKinney Azle News
Denver City ISD Clinton Bowman Denver City Press
Kendra Duncan Denver City Press
Bo Wells KIKZ 1250 AM Sports
Fort Stockton ISD Shawn Yorks Fort Stockton Pioneer
Ken Ripley KFST Radio
Galena Park ISD Cathy Hernandez KPRC Channel 2
Nate Griffin KRIV Fox 26 Houston
Gilbert Hoffman North Channel Star
Allan Jamail North Channel Star
San Angelo ISD Shea Harris Concho Sports Network
Araceli Gutierrez Conexión San Angelo
Jim Sanchez Conexión San Angelo and Flaco Guapo Media
Rick Andrews Foster Communications
Fred Key Foster Communications
Rick Mantooth Foster Communications
Alma Velez Foster Communications
Randall Case FOX West Texas
Esmeralda Perez FOX West Texas
Sandy Rojas FOX West Texas
Cody Brown KLST-TV
Ryan Compeau KLST-TV
Erin Hunter KLST-TV
Carolyn McEnrue KLST-TV
Senora Scott KLST-TV/KSAN-TV
Isabel Albritton KSAN-TV
Carolyn Miller San Angelo Family Magazine
Joe Hyde San Angelo LIVE
Ryan Hernandez San Angelo News
Gloria Cuellar Saver Media
Temple ISD Megan Boyd KWTX-TV
Eric Garcia Temple Daily Telegram
Joel Valley Temple Daily Telegram
Josh Weaver Temple Daily Telegram