2021 TASB Media Honor Roll List

Media representatives from Texas newspapers, radio and television stations, and online publications were named to the 2021 Media Honor Roll by their local school districts. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the Media Honor Roll program recognizes reporters statewide for fair, accurate, and balanced reporting of news about public schools.

Criteria for the district selection included the media representative’s efforts to:

  • Get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals
  • Report school news in a fair, accurate, and balanced manner
  • Give a high profile to positive news about schools
  • Visit the schools
  • Maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school officials
District Honoree Organization
Brazos ISD Johnny Griffin Wallis News Review
Burnet CISD Daniel Clifton DailyTrib.com: The Picayune
Denver City ISD Clinton Bowman Denver City Press
Kendra Duncan Denver City Press
Fort Stockton ISD Nathan Heuer Fort Stockton Pioneer Newspaper
Ken Ripley KFST Radio
Galena Park ISD Cathy Hernandez KPRC Channel 2
Liberty ISD Vanesa Brashier Bluebonnet News
Cynthia Smith The Gazette
Casey Stinnett The Vindicator
Midway ISD Nick Canizales KCEN
Julie Hays KWTX News 10
Drake Lawson KWTX News 10
Erin Heft KXXV Channel 25
Rod Aydelotte Waco Tribune-Herald
Brooke Crum Waco Tribune-Herald
Ken Sury Waco Tribune-Herald
Northwest ISD Kira Lovell Community Impact Newspaper
Wayne Carter NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Deborah Ferguson NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth
Brittney Dear North Texan | University of North Texas
Richard Greene Wise County Messenger
Austin Jackson Wise County Messenger
Pasadena ISD Carissa Lamkahouan Houston Chronicle
Anayeli Ruiz KHOU 11 News
Rose-Ann Aragon KPRC Channel 2
Nate Griffin KRIV Fox 26 News
Yvette Orozco The Pasadena Citizen
Pine Tree ISD Kristen Barton Longview News-Journal
San Angelo ISD Shea Harris Concho Sports Network
In Memoriam:
Gregorio Gutierrez
Rick Andrews Foster Communications
Fred Key Foster Communications
Rick Mantooth Foster Communications
Mark Brown Fox West Texas
Carolyn McEnrue KLST
Carolyn Miller San Angelo Family Magazine
Manny Diaz San Angelo LIVE!
Joe Hyde San Angelo LIVE!
Charles Bryce Standard Times
John Tufts Standard Times
Temple ISD Maria Aguilera KCEN
Paige Ellenberger KXXV
Leigha McNeil KXXV
Vincent Winter KXXV
Nan Dickson Temple Daily Telegram
Eric Garcia Temple Daily Telegram
Joel Valley Temple Daily Telegram