2020 TASB Media Honor Roll List

Media representatives from Texas newspapers, radio and television stations, and online publications were named to the 2020 Media Honor Roll by their local school districts. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the Media Honor Roll program recognizes reporters statewide for fair, accurate, and balanced reporting of news about public schools.

Criteria for the district selection included the media representative’s efforts to:

  • Get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals
  • Report school news in a fair, accurate, and balanced manner
  • Give a high profile to positive news about schools
  • Visit the schools
  • Maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school officials
District Organization Honoree
Azle ISD The Azle News
The Azle News Lindsay Smith
Burnet CISD Luedecke Photography Martelle Luedecke
Denver City ISD Denver City Press Clinton Bowman
Denver City Press Kendra Duncan
Fayetteville ISD KTIM Radio Lee Fritsch
Fort Stockton ISD Fort Stockton Pioneer Steve Fountain
KFST Radio Ken Ripley
Galena Park ISD Fox 26 Nate Griffith
Fox 26 News Nate Griffin
North Channel Star Jamail Allan
North Channel Star Gil Hoffman
North Channel Star Allan Jamail
Huntsville ISD KSAM-FM 101.7 Radio
Postcards Magazine: Piney Woods Edition Karen Altom
The Huntsville Item
Walker County Press Wade Thibodeaux
La Grange ISD KTIM Radio Lee Fritsch
Navasota ISD Navasota Examiner Ana Cosino
Navasota Examiner Matt Ybarra
Round Top-Carmine ISD KTIM Radio Lee Fritsch
San Angelo ISD Conexion Gregorio Gutierrez
KLST-TV Carolyn McEnrue
Rick Mantooth of Foster Communications Fred Key
San Angelo Live Manny Diaz
San Angelo Live Joe Hyde