2019 TASB Media Honor Roll List

Media representatives from Texas newspapers, radio and television stations, and online publications were named to the 2019 Media Honor Roll by their local school districts. Sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB), the Media Honor Roll program recognizes reporters statewide for fair, accurate, and balanced reporting of news about public schools.

Criteria for the district selection included the media representative’s efforts to:

  • Get to know the superintendent, board president, and the district’s mission and goals
  • Report school news in a fair, accurate, and balanced manner
  • Give a high profile to positive news about schools
  • Visit the schools
  • Maintain a policy of no surprises by sharing information with school officials
District Organization Honoree
Azle ISD The Azle News  
Belton ISD KCEN TV Emani Payne
  KWKT Fox 44 Leslie Rangel
  KWTX-TV News 10 Chelsea Edwards
  KXXV News Channel 25 Olivia Levada
  Temple Daily Telegram Mariel Williams
  The Belton Journal Tony Adams
  The Belton Journal Kierra Pixler
  The Temple Daily Telegram Josh Weaver
Boling ISD Boling Sports Jackie Chilek
Brownfield ISD Brownfield News  
  Town Talk Radio  
Bryan ISD The Eagle Chelsea Katz
Burnet CISD The Burnet Bulletin Savanna Gregg
Colorado ISD Colorado Record Diane Cheaney
  KVMC/KAUM Radio Cat Geiger
  KVMC/KAUM Radio Tim Lelek
  NTS Communications Ismael Silva
Cuero ISD Cuero Record Allison Flores
  Cuero Record Robert Proctor
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD Community Impact Cy-Fair  
Denver City ISD Denver City Press Clinton Bowman
  Denver City Press Kendra Duncan
Fayetteville ISD KVLG/KBUK Radio Gary Dusek
Fort Stockton ISD Fort Stockton Pioneer Steve Fountain
  KFST Radio Station Ken Ripley
Groom ISD The Groom News Macee Sater
Harris County Department of Education CW 39 Houston TV Chris McDonald
  Grafik Press Gilbert Hoffman
  KPRC Channel 2 Rose-Ann Aragon
  KRIV Fox 26 Kaitlin Monte
  KTRK ABC 13 Juan Beltran
Hemphill ISD Daily News and More Pennie Ferguson
  Sabine County Reporter Stephanie Corley
Huntsville ISD KSAM-FM 101.7 Radio Station  
  Postcards Magazine: Piney Woods Edition  
  The Huntsville Item  
  Walker County News Today  
  Walker County Press  
La Grange ISD KVLG/KBUK Radio Gary Dusek
Leonard ISD The Leonard Graphic Betsy Blevins
Liberty ISD Bluebonnet News Vanesa Brashier
  KSHN Radio Bill Buchanan
  KSHN Radio Brad Harrington
  The Dayton News David Taylor
  The Gazette Cynthia Smith
  The Vindicator Casey Stinnett
North Zulch ISD The Madisonville Meteor Campbell Atkins
Pine Tree ISD East Texas Review Joycelyne Fadojutimi
Round Top-Carmine ISD KVLG/KBUK Radio Gary Dusek
Salado ISD Salado Village Voice Tim Fleischer
  Schoolboy Sports Larnce Barker
  Schoolboy Sports Jeff Stockton
San Angelo ISD Conexión Gregorio Gutierrez
  Foster Communications Fred Key
  Foster Communications Rick Mantooth “Jay Michaels”
  KIDY-TV Cody Broadway
  KLST-TV Cody Adams
  San Angelo Live Joe Hyde
San Perlita ISD Brownsville Herald Mark Molina
  KRGV-TV Channel 5 Erica Ross
  Raymondville Chronicle Erica Ysassi
Temple ISD KCEN Heidi Alagha
  KXXV Maggie Lohmiller
  Temple Daily Telegram Eric Garcia
  Temple Daily Telegram Michael Miller
United ISD City of Laredo Police Public Information Office  
  City of Laredo Public Access  
  Creativa Media Group, I Like 107.3, Radio Formula, and Estereo 91  
  El Diario Newspaper  
  El Mañana Newspaper  
  Entravision, Univision, and Fox Television  
  Guerra Communications  
  I Love Laredo  
  Imagen 94.1  
  KBNL Radio/Radio Manantial  
  KGNS, ABC, CW, and Telemundo  
  KHOY Radio  
  La Raza Radio Station  
  Laredo Buzz  
  Laredo Fire Department  
  Laredo Morning Times  
  Laredo Sports Wire  
  Laredo Today  
  Office of Texas State Representative Richard Raymond Pena  
  Office of Texas State Senator Judith Zaffirini  
  Office of the Webb County Constable Pct. 4 Harold Devally  
  Office of U.S. Congress Henry Cuellar  
  Office of Webb County Constable Pct. 1 Rodolfo “Rudy” Rodriguez, Jr.  
  Office of Webb County Constable Pct. 2 Miguel “Mike” Villarreal  
  Office of Webb County Judge Tano Tijerina  
  Office of Webb County Sheriff Martin Cuellar  
  R Communications  
  U.S. Border Patrol Laredo Sector  
  United ISD Instructional Television  
  United ISD Police Department  
  Webb Country Public Information Office  
Waxahachie ISD The Waxahachie Sun Jo Ann Livingston
  Waxahachie Daily Light Ashley Ford
Windham School District ABC 7 KVII Morgan Burrell