2018–2019 Student Video Contest

Lights, camera, action! Now accepting entries!

Rural, urban, big, small—no two Texas public schools are the same but each one is excellent in its own way, and we want to celebrate that!

Collaborate with your classmates to come up with a creative video telling the world:

  • What you love about your school
  • What makes your school a special place
  • Why Texas public schools are awesome

Be sure to submit your entry before January 18.

Want to know what it takes to win?

Although we provide you with the basic guidelines, there are no clear-cut instructions for creating a winning video. Put your heart into it and collaborate with classmates to create a genuine and unique video featuring your school to show everyone why they should stand behind Texas public schools.

Important dates

  • Video submissions begin: December 3, 2018
  • Online application available: December 3, 2018
  • Video submission deadline: January 18, 2019*

* Deadlines may be extended by TASB and notice of any extended deadline will be published on TASB’s website.

Entry rule highlights

The following are entry rule highlights. View the 2018–2019 Contest Rules page for additional information about video specifications, the submission process, prizes, and more.

  1. Participating school district must be an active member of TASB.
  2. The video must be an original work. 
  3. Only one video per school campus may be entered.
  4. Video entries should be between 30 seconds and two minutes in length.
  5. Entries will be accepted December 3, 2018–January 18, 2019.*
  6. A student producer/director and sponsoring teacher/administrator must be designated.
  7. Contest participation must be approved by the campus principal. 
  8. A written release (pdf) must be provided for each person distinctly featured or involved in the production of the video.
  9. Written permission must be obtained for all copyrighted or trademarked materials.

Note: There is no entry fee to participate.

* Deadlines may be extended by TASB and notice of any extended deadline will be published on TASB’s website.

Past Winners

Zavala Elementary
Zavala Elementary School, Harlingen CISD
Memorial Middle School
Memorial Middle School, Edinburg CISD
Rouse City High School
Royse City High School, Royse City ISD
Full list of the  2017 Student Video Contest videos.